%AM, %14 %197 %2017 %09:%Feb

It’s Tele’es time again!

Continuation of an award ceremony at the highest level for thirteenth consecutive years, overcoming many challenges is a very special victory

for us and we are pleased to see that today the Raigam Tele’es has become a very special event of all stakeholders of the industry. We share that happiness and the strength we have thus gained with the media and the general public and we gladly and proudly accept the challenge of organizing the “Awards Ceremony of the Nation” to encompass the whole of the tele-media. An occasion retains its value and currency only if it evolves with the passage of time while maintaining its core values. If, in an award ceremony, award winners are queued up and given awards just for the sake of holding an award ceremony, that event will not generate any interest; at least not for very long. The audience will not have any enthusiasm as there will be nothing to arouse their interest. That is the reason why audiences in many award ceremonies applaud the award recipient so unenthusiastically. As organizers of Raigam Tele’es we are always committed to provide a new experience to the audience while maintaining the values of the event. Raigam Tele’es has established a set of norms which are very strictly adhered to in all aspects of the event.

Although the over-view of the Raigam Tele‟es has been broadened, the Raigam Tele‟es Secretariat has decided to keep the number of awards allocated for the tele-drama sector unchanged. Accordingly this year too there will be number of awards for the year’s best creation, acting, singing and technical talents of multi-episode tele-drama and single-episode tele-drama.

Today the most popular TV program is tele-drama, but most of the air time is occupied by other, different programs. The main responsibility of the TV media should be to telecast these programs targeting the education and entertainment needs of the audience with high quality material and updating viewers on various areas of interest. Therefore with the hope of encouraging production of creative and high value programs to sharpen the minds and tastes of the general public a number of awards will be presented to best efforts in this category including news reading, news reporting, current affairs, educational, children’s, musical, reality, and political

Programs. Awards for the best news reader and best presenter will be granted separately for each language Sinhala, English and Tamil.

An opportunity has been allowed for thousands of television viewers to indicate their most preferred tele-drama, actor and the actress under this category through an SMS poll. Raigam pioneered the use of SMS to select the winners of popular awards. This time too the general public will get the chance to use SMS to elect their choice of the most popular Actor, Actress, and Tele-drama. SMS voting will be opened from May 2 to June 2. 25 participants from SMS-voting will be selected to receive two invitations each to witness Raigam Tele’es 2016. The winners who will receive a message from the Raigam Tele’es Secretariat through the telephone number used to send the SMS will enable to receive printed invitations by forwarding the message at the gate. The telephone numbers for SMS Poll are 0772 522 522 / 0702 722 722

Honouring the pioneers and artists who had worked hard for the development of the television sector is one of the special events of the Raigam Telees. During the past Raigam Telees has honoured many senior artists, technicians and selected personalities who were instrumental in introducing television media in our country.

In 2007, Prathiba Prabha lifetime awards scheme was introduced to honour and appreciate the contribution and achievement of most prominent personalities who contributed to build and develop the TV industry. Dr. D.B Nihalsinghe, Shan Wickramasinghe, Kalashoori Titus Thotawatta, Kalashoori Sathischandra Edirisinghe, Lucien Bulathsinghala, Tony Ranasinghe, Dharmasena Pathiraja, Parakrama Niriella, Jayalath Manorathne, Cyril Wickramage and Ravindra Randeniya are the artists who have been honoured under this awards scheme. (Daily News)

Read 680 times