Wimal, Prasanna summoned before Privileges Committee

Wimal, Prasanna summoned before Privileges Committee

Joint Opposition Parliamentarians Prasanna Ranaweera and Wimal Weerawansa have been summoned before the Parliament Privileges and Ethics Committee today.

The Committee has summoned the two MPs to proceed on the inquiry into their alleged misconduct in Parliament on July 3 and the two MPs have been asked to show cause as to why there should not be disciplinary action against them.

A formal complaint into the incident was made in the House by Deputy Minister Ajith P. Perera on July 4 and it was referred to the Parliament Privileges and Ethics Committee the next day.

The Committee which met on July 5 perused CCTV footage of the incident.

Deputy Minister Perera brought to the attention of the House that the two JO MPs with their foul language and aggressive behavior even threatened the Chair and tried to grab the Mace, ridiculing Parliament.

He stressed that this behaviour amounts to a breach of privileges of all other MPs.

He urged to hold a comprehensive inquiry into the incident and take tough action against the two MPs as per the provisions in the newly adopted Standing Orders and Code of Conduct for MPs.

The provision to impose four weeks’ suspension on any member who touches the Mace during the sittings has been included into the new set of Standing Orders adopted from April 15.

Ministers Thilak Marapana, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Gayantha Karunathilake, Mano Ganesan and Faiszer Musthapha, MPs Susil Premajayantha, Douglas Devananda, Anura Dissanayake, E. Saravanapavan and Shanthi Sri Skandarasa are members of the Privileges and Ethics Committee.

(Daily News)

back to top