UNP makes key leadership changes

UNP makes key leadership changes

The United National Party (UNP) made key changes to its leadership yesterday as part of long awaited reforms.

Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam who was named as General Secretary speaking to the Daily FT, said that several major changes were made to the party leadership such as the posts of National Organizer, Treasurer and Party Chairman.

Accordingly, the changes proposed were: Minister Navin Dissanayake as National Organizer, Minister Kabir Hashim as Chairman, Minister Harsha De Silva as Treasurer, Minister Sajith Premadasa as Deputy Leader, and MP Ravi Karunanayake as the Assistant Leader of the Party. Ruwan Wijewardena has been nominated as Assistant Secretary General Soon after the UNP defeat at the Local Government elections, the then Party General Secretary Kabir Hashim stepped down from his position. In the days just prior to the No-Confidence Motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, calls were made from within the UNP for complete reforms and restructuring of the Party, including its leadership.


back to top