Ex-SLFP Ministers will join us JO

Ex-SLFP Ministers will join us JO

The Joint Opposition (JO) claimed that former Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Ministers who voted against the Prime Minister, at the No-Faith Motion will sit in the Opposition in Parliament as an independent group of the SLFP and work in coordination with the JO from 8 May.

Deputy Organizer of the JO, Parliamentarian Ranjith de Soysa told Ceylon Today, “Discussions are currently underway regarding this and they have informed us that they would also sit in the Opposition on 8 May in the new Parliamentary session.” He added that the former Ministers would officially inform this to the Speaker before 8 May.

The Cabinet, State and Deputy Ministers, who voted against the Premier, resigned from their positions and claimed that they would suggest that the SLFP pulls out of the Government at the next Party Central Committee meeting, which will be held after the President arrives from attending the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting.

However, General Secretary of the United People’s Freedom Alliance, Minister Mahinda Amaraweera and General Secretary of the SLFP Minister Duminda Dissanayaka, have stated that the Unity Government was likely to continue and that President Maithripala Sirisena had appointed a committee to give recommendations on continuing the Unity Government successfully.

(Ceylon Today)

back to top